Albert canal bridges

Prev Next
Description 

Through the construction of 15 new bridges andlocal widening works, we are contributing to a capacity increase for the Albert Canal. The client particularly appreciated our creative financing solution and our efforts to carry out the work with minimum disruption to all stakeholders.

The Albert Canal, the most important waterway in Flanders with an annual goods transport volume for 40 million tons, is crossed by 62 bridges. Every one of these bridges forms a bottleneck for inland navigation as they aren’t high enough, and the canal is not wide enough underneath. De Vlaamse Waterweg is eliminating all of these bottlenecks by raising all bridges to a clearance height of 9.10 metres, and by widening the canal to 85 metres. Due to the complexity of the locations involved, De Vlaamse Waterweg decided to bundle these alteration works at 15 sites along the Albert Canal into two public-private partnerships. As part of these PPPs, the client started looking for partners to design, build and finance the new bridges and surrounding infrastructure, and to maintain them for a period of 30 years (DBFM).

Together with HYE and Aelterman, Franki Construct and Willemen Infra set up a consortium called Via T Albert. The consortium then developed proposals for both PPP clusters in which it offered complete and pragmatic solutions to the challenges faced by De Vlaamse Waterweg. Willemen Project Finance also chipped in to develop a sound project financing proposal. This approach proved successful, as the consortium of contractors signed its first DBFM contract with the canal manager in 2017 for the reconstruction of seven bridges. Following a successful partnership on the first cluster, an order for the design, construction, finance (EPC) and 30-year maintenance of a further eight bridges located in Beringen, Paal-Tervant, Meerhout-Vorst, Lummen, Oelegem, Herentals, Kuringen and Schoten followed in April 2019 (Cluster 2).
 

Willemen Infra came into being on 1 July 2018 as a result of the merger between Aswebo, Aannemingen Van Wellen and the infrastructure department of Kumpen and is a leading road builder and asphalt and concrete manufacturer.

Since 1998 Franki Construct has been part of Willemen Groep, the largest family construction group in Belgium.

News

 

Project Details

Client 
De Vlaamse Waterweg
Price 
€182.000.000
Temporary partnership 
Via T Albert (Franki Construct, Willemen Infra, Hye, Aelterman)
Engineering Office 
Arcadis, Sweco, Greisch
Span 
120m
Start work
09-2017

Ponts sur le canal Albert

Prev Next
Description 

Nous participons au projet qui vise à augmenter la capacité du canal Albert en construisant 15 nouveaux ponts et en élargissant localement le canal. Le donneur d’ordre a particulièrement apprécié notre solution de financement créative et les efforts que nous déployons pour limiter au maximum les nuisances pour toutes les parties prenantes.

Avec près de 40 millions de tonnes de marchandises transportées chaque année, et 62 ponts qui le surplombent, le canal Albert est la principale voie de transport fluvial de Flandre. Chacun d’entre eux constitue un goulet d’étranglement pour la navigation intérieure. Parce qu’ils ne sont pas assez hauts et parce que le canal n’y est pas assez large. De Vlaamse Waterweg souhaite éliminer totalement ces obstacles en exhaussant les ponts jusqu’à une hauteur libre de 9,10 m et en portant la largeur du canal à 85 m. De Vlaamse Waterweg a regroupé les travaux de modification sur 15 sites tout au long du canal Albert en deux dossiers PPP en raison de la complexité de ces sites. Le donneur d’ordre a demandé aux candidats de concevoir, construire, financer et entretenir (DBFM) pendant 30 ans les nouveaux ponts et les infrastructures associées.

Avec Hye et Aelterman, Franki Construct et Willemen Infra ont formé le « via T Albert ». Le consortium a élaboré une proposition pour les deux clusters de PPP, dans laquelle était proposée une solution aux défis posés par De Vlaamse Waterweg, et ce, à l’aide d’une approche efficace et pragmatique. Willemen Project Finance s’est joint au projet pour élaborer un financement solide. Et la réussite a été au rendez-vous : en 2017, le consortium d’entrepreneurs a signé avec le gestionnaire du canal un premier contrat DBFM prévoyant la reconstruction de 7 ponts. Après une première collaboration réussie dans le premier cluster, la commande a suivi en avril 2019 pour la conception, la construction, le financement (EPC) et la maintenance pendant 30 ans de 8 autres ponts (cluster 2) à Beringen, Paal-Tervant, Meerhout-Vorst, Lummen, Oelegem, Herentals, Kuringen et Schoten.

 

Willemen Infra a vu le jour le 1er juillet 2018 de la fusion entre Aswebo, Aannemingen Van Wellen et le département infra de Kumpen et est l'un des principaux constructeurs de routes et fabricants d'asphalte et de béton.

Depuis 1998, Franki Construct appartient à Willemen Groep, le plus grand groupe familial de construction en Belgique.

Nouvelles

 

Détails du projet

Maître(s) d'ouvrage 
De Vlaamse Waterweg
Montant 
€182.000.000
Sociéte momentanée 
Via T Albert (Franki Construct, Willemen Infra, Hye, Aelterman)
Bureau d'études 
Arcadis, Sweco, Greisch
Portée 
120m
Début des travaux
09-2017